NAPOCOR Transparency Seal


      MOR  DOR  Report Archives 

      Telemetry  PR Tracking System  Web Mail

      news archives  procurement  job vacancy


                         SPUG MAP

                     NPC Facebook Page

                  Like us on Facebook


      doe  erc logo   nea




The Pangutaran DPP houses the 2 x 300 kw gensets.

Last 05 March 2017, representatives from the National Power Corporation (NPC), Sulu Electric Cooperative, Inc. (SULECO) and the Local Government of Pangutaran switched-on the 160 kW Pangutaran Diesel Power Plant (DPP).

Initially, four (4) out of 12 barangays in the island benefitted from the energization of Pangutaran DPP, namely: Barangays Simbahan (Poblacion); Bangkilay; Panitikan and Pandan-Niog with potential households of 734; 278; 383 and 624, respectively or total of 2,019 potential households. However, only 540 households were connected during the ceremony; 410 of them or 76% are residential consumers, 100 or 19% are commercial customers and 30 or 0.05% are public buildings. The power plant will operate for six (6) hours per day or from 6:00 PM to 12:00 midnight.

Pangutaran DPP was funded and constructed by NPC including its operation and maintenance while its distribution system was funded and constructed by SULECO. Initially, SULECO will supervise the LGU’s Pangutaran Municipal Power Association (PAMUPA) headed by ­­­­Hadji Sahid S. Nu for the operation and maintenance of the distribution system. The Municipality of Pangutaran was the first to sign the Municipal Power Association (MUPA) with NPC.

The energization of Pangutaran DPP will boast the economy of the Island Municipality. Some of the major activities in the island are fishing, farming, seafaring trade, boat building, iron working, weaving mats and pottery.


With the honorable Mayor A. K. Taib (checkered shirt)


Mr. S. D. Sarmiento of RMD delivering his inaugural speech to all guest.


NPC calamity gensets 1 x 160kw will supplements the 2 units 2 x 300kw in case need arises.

Pangutaran Island can be reached by 3-hour motorized boat ride from Jolo Pier, Jolo, Sulu. Pangutaran Municipality comprises of two (2) islands, Pangutaran and Panducan Islands. There are 12 barangays in Pangutaran Island while four (4) are in Panducan Island.  

The switch-on ceremony of Pangutaran DPP was participated by Mayor, Amilhamja Taib and the members of the Sangguniang Bayan; NPC representatives headed by Engr. Yahcob Darayan, Acting Manager, SPUG - Mindanao Operations Department and Engr. Salvador Sarmiento, Jr. Manager, Revenue Management Department; and SULECO representatives lead by Ret. Col. Muhabuddin A. Ismael, Edu D, Board President and Ms. Peraida T. Jalani, General Manager. It was followed by a short program in Tong Bas Elementary School. Mayor Taib expressed his gratitude and willingness to support NPC and SULECO for lighting the lives and giving hope for the people of Pangutaran.